Election Day

Woo hoo. The day is finally here! Went off without a hitch so far, for me, anyway: easy work, head to the polls on a beautiful day, jump to the head of the line (thankfully) because I'm registered, get my ballot, and vote. Then go about my day. There was an ambulance picking up someone from across the street this afternoon, though, so not good for everyone, obviously. Not sure who it was, but they were being loaded up in a stretcher so it couldn't have been good. My prayers go out to that man/woman/family.

So the day isn't over yet, obviously, and the election is certainly FAR from over, but at least this day is almost over. I am happy about THAT. Thank GOD. I know I'm not the only one who feels that way. It's just been too much, all of it.

Moving forward, I'm just going to try to keep the same clear, cool head I've had about it today. Of course, it might get much harder in the days to come, as the results are coming out, or even in the process of coming out. Still, I can try, because after all, how much difference does it really make who wins? It could be huge, or it could be nothing at all.

For tonight, my aim is just to get a good night's sleep, and to wake up ready for work, because tomorrow is going to be a shit-show. Or it could be. I work in media, so it gets a little hairy on days like this: you know, historical presidential elections. I remember driving to work the morning after the election in 2016, listening to the BBC World Service, and that's how I found out that Donald Trump had won. I was just in shock. Like much of the nation, I was just in shock. I wanted to change the station, as if another station would have different news to report. But no such luck. It was the truth, and it has been the truth for 4 long years.

So whatever the next day, or week, or weeks hold for us; whether the results will be clear or not, if there is unrest or not, if Biden wins or Trump wins – we know we can handle it. At least, I know I can handle it. The stress of worrying is almost worse than it's really worth – I feel like whatever happens up top there will affect me of course, but it's not nearly as important as it seems. It's not as different from one candidate to the other as it seems. Sure, I voted, and I chose a candidate, but will it make a difference? I dunno. Don't really think so. It's a broken system, and it's hard to get too worked up about it anymore, in any regard. What's the point?

I'd rather do my best for my fellow men and women on this earth, no matter what their vote or stance, and worry about my inner path first. That part I can control. The rest, not so much.

Ready for bed soon – a blissful ignorance of what's happening in the polls. Sleep, then chaos in the morning. But chaos that I can handle if I'm well-rested and content. :)

Amen. God bless the people of this country, and the world. May we find peace and love in our hearts tonight, and compassion for our fellow men/women.

Goodnight.