Blackout Night

Short one today – I've been behind, but that's because I'm fasting, and yesterday, the power went out.

I was literally just sitting down to write when a powerful storm came through – pitch-black clouds and huge winds blowing in like an angry god, whipping trashbins down the alley and knocking over houseplants from their perches. Rain dropped like a huge bucket had been tipped over, and wind blowing the rain sideways. The rain hitting our windows like angry bullets, trying to get in. Like angry locusts, trying to get in, or fly through.

The nice thing about that kind of weather is that once the storm passed (it moved very fast) it was just dark, and quiet. Just a few battery-operated lights in the house, and besides that, nothing. No sound, no lights – not even in the alleyways, no ugly yellow light to draw my shade against. No annoying fans blowing or other white noise my husband likes. Just peace and quiet.

I could still take a shower though – thank goodness for that, because I needed one. Plus, it was nice to freshen up for that other activity that's great for a blackout night: sex.

The nice thing about being too sick or tired to have sex in...say...two weeks or more, is that when it finally happens, it's REALLY good. Even without the foreplay, just grabbin' the lube and getting right into it, it's amazing. Every touch down there feels so delicious, like it's been starved for months. When I'm ready to come, it just comes to a huge roiling boil, like a monster wave crashing over a beach, taking out houses in its wake. And it keeps coming, again and again. I finally have to say to my husband, that he can stop if he wants, because I'll just keep coming, and he'll eventually need some coconut water or electrolytes or something.

So we wrap up, wash up, and after brushing my teeth in the fake candlelight, it's not even 7 o'clock yet, but I'm ready for bed. And I fall asleep very quickly and very soundly.

And that is not a bad way to spend a blackout night. No sir, not at all.